Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM will go ahead!

As promised, we are excited to present NZASM21 on the scheduled dates of October 27 – 30, 2021.

The meeting will now be delivered as a virtual event.

In spite of the challenges over the last 18+ months, we remain excited about NZASM21.  While we are disappointed our delegates will not get the chance to visit Ōtautahi Christchurch in person to enjoy our city, our Organising Committee has put together a scientific program we are proud of. We can’t wait to share our knowledge with everyone.

We encourage you to register, organise to watch in a group, and participate in the live Q&A, industry exhibition, and other engagement opportunities.  Please visit the FAQ page of the site for further information.

We have extended our earlybird registration closing deadline for virtual registration until next Sunday, October 3 and updated the terms and conditions which can be viewed on the registration page.

Further details will be added to this website, and communicated to our existing registered delegates, speakers, chairpersons and industry partners. We thank you all for your contribution and understanding.

If you have any questions in the meantime, please do reach out and contact us. We will do our best to assist however we can.

Introductory Chat

An introduction to the theme and scientific program for the Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM 2021.

Drs Christian Brett and Veronica Gin
Scientific Program Convenors

Key Dates

Registration and Abstract Submission Open: June 1, 2021
Abstract Submissions Close: September 13, 2021
Earlybird Registration Close: October 3, 2021

Meeting Dates: October 27-30, 2021

Tēnā koutou,

We wanted to invite everyone to Ōtautahi, Christchurch, but COVID happened.

But don’t worry – you can still come to the conference.

Although it will be a virtual meeting, we promise a completely interactive experience. There will be plenty of opportunities to engage, ask questions, network with friends and colleagues and to visit our trade displays. And being virtual, you can watch any of the presentations at your leisure until January 31st 2022. 

The theme for the meeting is Whakaora (To Heal): Our patients, Ourselves, Our City, Our Planet. Through our scientific program and virtual workshops, we will aim to challenge ourselves to care for our patients more effectively; to look after ourselves and each other; to consider the wider community and the world we live in.

Sound good? Register now, and why not organise to get together with friends and colleagues for a local ‘watch-party’? We look forward to seeing you (virtually) soon.

Ngā mihi
Dr Ben van der Griend

On behalf of the Organising Committee

ANZCA, NZSA and NZATS Invitation

Tēnā koutou

On behalf of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA), the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) and the New Zealand Anaesthetic Technicians’ Society (NZATS) we would like to extend our warmest welcome to the big event on the Aotearoa calendar this year.

We are proud to sponsor this conference Whakaora (To Heal): Our patients, Ourselves, Our City, Our Planet in the beautiful city of Ōtautahi, Christchurch. It is the first time we have held the conference in the Garden City for many years. It is a city that has been through so much and evolved so bravely. We know it will be a special conference for all of us.

The programme has been developed to reflect the dynamic times we live in and the challenges we face looking after our patients and ourselves. Join us and be part of innovative and exciting conversations that affect our speciality.

Ngā mihi nui

Dr Sally Ure – Chair, ANZCA New Zealand National Committee
Dr Sheila Hart – President, New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists
Kirstin Fraser – Chair of the New Zealand Anaesthetic Technicians’ Society

Start typing and press Enter to search